BREAKING: McSparron Named New SECHC Commissioner

February 2nd, 2016 | by Justin Bradford
BREAKING: McSparron Named New SECHC Commissioner

After seven years at the helm, Kenny Day steps down to make way for former Georgia Tech head coach

Nashville, Tenn. (February 2, 2016) – The South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC) announced today that Brian McSparron, former head coach of the Georgia Institute of Technology hockey program, will serve as the next commissioner of the SECHC. McSparron will replace Kenny “Sarge” Day, who served as the first elected, and unanimously reelected commissioner of the SECHC.

Day is confident in the current state of the SECHC.

From L to R: Kenny "Sarge" Day, Brian McSparron, Paul Thienprayoon, Brett Simonini, Greg Stathis

From L to R: Kenny “Sarge” Day, Brian McSparron, Paul Thienprayoon, Greg Stathis, Brett Simonini

“After seven years of hard work, I believe we have created an outstanding organization that our student athletes, parents, coaches and volunteers are proud of,” said Day. “We started with nothing and now see our hockey conference preparing for our 2016 Playoffs co-hosted by the Ford Ice Center and Nashville Predators. It doesn’t get much better than that.”

He’s also confident in the future of the conference under McSparron.

“I can say nothing but positive things about the current state of our hockey conference and am confident that Commissioner-elect Brian McSparron will move the conference to yet another level of excellence,” said Day.

McSparron has been involved in hockey his entire life. Following a career in junior hockey and playing for State University of New York at Canton, McSparron has coached at the Bantam and Midget levels and spent over 12 years as a coach at Georgia Tech. From 2009-2015, McSparron was the head coach for the Yellow Jackets.

The SEHC has undergone tremendous growth under Day’s leadership, and McSparron credits the success of the league to his predecessor.

“Under Sarge’s leadership, the SECHC has developed a great playoff atmosphere and has had teams compete very well in the American Collegiate Hockey Association National Championship tournament,” said McSparron. “These are trends I look to continue and grow upon.”

With hockey continuing to grow in what used to be considered non-traditional areas of the country, McSparron has immense goals for the league and its future.

“My goal is to brand the SECHC as the conference for high school hockey players to come to and compete while getting a world class education,” said McSparron. “When I was in high school there weren’t a lot of choices to play college hockey. Now, college hockey can be played from all corners of the United States. Students need to know that they have an opportunity to play college hockey and the ACHA and the SECHC can fulfill these students dream to play at the collegiate level.”

Currently in its eighth season, the SECHC will be conducting its annual playoffs to crown its conference champion this weekend, February 5-7 at Ford Ice Center in Antioch, Tennessee. Out of the 10 teams in the conference, eight teams will compete for a chance to win the Army Strong Championship Cup. More information about the playoffs can be found here.

For more information, contact Justin B. Bradford, Director of Communications, SECHC at 615.775.7692 or via email at


About the SECHC

The South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC) is in its eighth season in 2015-16. Previously Divided into East and West Divisions, beginning in the 2015-16 season, SECHC teams compete in one division for the coveted ARMY STRONG Championship Cup.

The representative body of 10 teams participate in Division III of the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA). All of the teams are non-varsity intercollegiate ice hockey programs at universities that are members of the Southeastern Conference (SEC) in NCAA athletics.

Of the 10 SECHC teams, nine currently play in the South region of ACHA Division III. Arkansas competes in the West region of ACHA Division III. The ten SECHC teams as of the 2015-16 season are: Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee and Vanderbilt.


Social Media:



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: